BLACK CANARY

A stance erect that I might stretch,
A little wing; A little breed I am still.

Black and Blue my mind peaks;
A tempo rapid, pulsating in frequencies,
I am lost in trance.

Echo...
Feedback lost.

A dark thought spiralled in the silence;
Squeaky tones blinked like sounds in an online sequence…

Blip… Blip… Blip…

A chance to make demands,
for the courage to be aware;
Be clear of the stance you erect;
Don’t waiver on bold, don’t curve…

Redirecting…

No trace, no sounds
A blank note, but I am calm;
In these planes of imbalance,
I stay on the right track, I am firm.

Feet sturdy, confidently churning,
The right we uphold, the truths we foretold

Backlash!

It’s payback
Black canary in a white dress,
there’s no need to be stressed.

--

--

Akinwunmi John

I express to the best of my capacity using this medium. Most times poetry, other times everything else. <See About>